| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
David Ashton
Joined: 26 Jan 2006 Location: perth
|
Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:11 am Post subject: new seller on ebay?? |
|
|
I just saw a new seller with 0 feedback selling 1, Hog 1000 and 1 GMa ultralight and 1 Flying pig console in Nelbourne[sic],
Either a very ambitious start to a selling career or another con. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
alexp
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 Location: work :)
|
Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wat was the link? _________________ It's Not Me.. It's You. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
David Ashton
Joined: 26 Jan 2006 Location: perth
|
Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is the web address[sic] W:www.dryhire.com.au
this is the item no. 150418256470 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i also saw that on eBay. i doubted that gear for that kind of price.
i just went to the Link you provided and all it says is new site comeing soon and an address. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Andy Ciddor Forums Admin

Joined: 09 May 2003 Location: Hobart, Tasmania
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A few minutes with a couple of open source search tools reveals the following. Some, none or all of it may be correct.
The domain Dryhire.com.au is registered to TOCKER PTY LTD, ABN 12007152481. Interestingly enough Tocker filed a notice with ASIC to wind up its operations on February 16th this year. If someone has an account with a data service they could follow up on the details of Tocker from the ABN/ASIC registry.
The registrant of the domain name is a Kosta Sivov, who appears to be the General Manager of Proline Productions of Settlement Road, Thomastown Victoria. Tocker Pty Ltd Appears to be the operator of the Proline Productions Group which includes RED Audio, LaserPro International and Digital Console Rentals.
A person of the same name (KOSTA CIVO SIVOV), also with an electronics background, is reported in the Hattaways Australian Credit Law Bulletin, as having been convicted on a number of occasions for fraud and having been sentenced at the beginning of this decade to a four year custodial sentence with three years before being eligible for parole, for some of his fraudulent activities.
Last edited by Andy Ciddor on Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:41 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm very interesting Andy.
and there are Bids on the items on eBay only 1 or 2 though but still in total allmost $40,000 i think from memory |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
David Ashton
Joined: 26 Jan 2006 Location: perth
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| last week he sold nearly $50k on Ebay alone, and all with 0 feedback. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| oh the auctions have allready ended. but still 50k with 0 feedback. wow people have alot of trust in Paypal covering them if it turns sour |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Andy Ciddor Forums Admin

Joined: 09 May 2003 Location: Hobart, Tasmania
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
These buyers probably will get the equipment that they've paid for, although they may not get to keep it, if the courts pursue them.
My concern would be that this gear could actually be the assets of a company being liquidated, and that these assets should have been sold by the company to pay its creditors, but instead are being sold privately by one of the directors, who may be about to take the money and run. Let's hope that is not the case. _________________ Andy Ciddor |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i would not like to be in their position if the gear gets reclaimed. all high and happy I've just got myself a Grand Ma console and then a few weeks later its reclaimed.
That actually kinda sounds feasible with this kind of gear it does look like a stock liquidation but we can only hope for the best. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
David Ashton
Joined: 26 Jan 2006 Location: perth
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| in this sort of situation finance companies often own the gear, but there is no registry as for cars.Or is there? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hold on if a director privately sells some of the gear that was destined to be liquidated and pockets the money wouldn't it be obviously stealing and a police file opened. stating that this console with this ser no. is stolen property etc.
and if it was ex hire stock the hire company would have records of the serial numbers.
actually this comes to mind How much Lighting equipment actually gets stolen every year? i heard i think it was last year on here some one stole a console from a theater but that's the only robbery i have ever hard of concerning lighting.
can someone enlighten me? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
hdmcc
Joined: 17 May 2008 Location: Canberra
|
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i dont no about lighting gear specifically, but i work in Parliament House in Canberra and a few years ago we had a 50inch plasma stolen from our store room, the weird thing being the plasma had no base (being designed to go on a stand) and they left the case.
so if that can happen i imagine plenty of gear "goes missing" |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jeez. a 50" Plasma..
I'm sure many Cables and Leads go missing every year but any one else got any stories of major pieces of gear disappearing? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ashley R
Joined: 19 Feb 2009 Location: Narre Warren VIC Australia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmmm it cant be stolen gear as i dont invision someone walking out of a factory with 50m of Box truss.
Its either its legit or its exactly what is said above |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|